Ashby Parva
Film Society





March 28th


Finding Your Feet

When 'Lady' Sandra Abbott (Academy Award nominee Imelda Staunton, Maleficent, Vera Drake) discovers that her husband of forty years (John Sessions) is having an affair with her best friend (Josie Lawrence) she seeks refuge in London with her estranged, older sister Bif (Celia Imrie, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Bridget Jones' Baby). The two could not be more different - Sandra is a fish out of water next to her outspoken, serial dating, free-spirited sibling. But different is just what Sandra needs at the moment, and she reluctantly lets Bif drag her along to a community dance class, where gradually she starts finding her feet and romance as she meets her sister's friends, Charlie (Timothy Spall), Jackie (Joanna Lumley) and Ted (David Hayman).

Bar closes at 7:35 prompt!

As "The Post" has been runner-up for 3 months, we have decided to show this film in April as our season finale.

As a result, there will be no voting in March.

April 25th - The Post - Steven Spielberg directs Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks in The Post, a thrilling drama about the unlikely partnership between The Washington Post's Katharine Graham (Streep), the first female publisher of a major American newspaper, and editor Ben Bradlee (Hanks), as they race to catch up with The New York Times to expose a massive cover-up of government secrets that spanned three decades and four U.S. Presidents. The two must overcome their differences as they risk their careers - and their very freedom - to help bring long-buried truths to light.


Results from February voting

(3pts for 1st, 2pts for 2nd, 1pt for 3rd):- 

Film Points

The Post


The Shape of Water


Finding Your Feet


If you would like a film considered for future voting, please e-mail (

GDPR - Other than name, the film society does not hold any information about its members.